IT IS WHAT IT IS BECAUSE IT NEVER WAS AND WHAT NEVER WAS CAN NEVER BE BY RONNELL BEATY

IT IS WHAT IT IS BECAUSE IT NEVER WAS, AND WHAT NEVER WAS, CAN NEVER BE BY RONNELL BEATY

Resonating, didactic, and biblical poetry.

This book is a collection of poetry that expounds on a wide range of topics about humanity. It’s an empathetic, resonating, didactic, and biblical collection of poems that kept me awe-inspired until I finished indulging my relatable emotions in it.

The pages of the poem titled “All Alone” are gruesome, empathetic, remorseful, as the narrator likened himself to a cursed person. I love the motivating tone of the verse of “Childhood Things.” Some poems discuss nature and its divinity, and the necessity of living a godly, vice-free life. I admire the fact that some poems are biblical, just as others expound on the transformation from an old(sinful self) to a new man, I specifically love the lines and stanzas of this poem because it’s so relatable.

Among my most admirable poem within this collection are those titled, Got My Guard Up, Light Dark, My Voice, Working Out, among many others. I specifically love the tone of the poem titled Got My Guard Up, the lyrics are lyrical & rhythmic, it’s thought-provoking, empathetic, and it depicts the word of a lad on the verge of a decision. The verses of the poem titled “I” are so desperate, tending to lay a curse, and gruesomely sad.

While other poems illustrate the necessity of staying healthy, some expound on regrets, hatred, hopelessness, love, and rejection. Some depict the cry and prayer of a desperate sinner who longs for freedom from the bondage of sin, some are informative, inspiring, and positive. There was a short story within the book which I think added more charm to the book.

I shall resist revealing further as I attempt to keep this review spoiler-free, and would recommend this artistic piece of poetry to lovers of poetry. You will find something that resonate with your life, or the lives of others around you. I’m sure you’ll find this book to what I’ve described and even beyond what I’ve described.

Page Count: 176 pages
Authored by Ronnell Beaty
Purchase link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B093MVWRH3
Reviewed by Peter Okonkwo (Host of P. English Literature)

Published by Peter Okonkwo

Peter Okonkwo was born in Akure, a city in the South-Western part of Nigeria. He is a fatalistic writer, author, editor, entrepreneur, poet, soon-to-be novelist of Etean's Destiny; and a certified orator from the Friendship Leadership Institute of Nigeria. Peter is the author of three poetry collections: Ecstasy of the Dead; Fate, In the Dungeon of Doom, and Whose Fault, Kismet or Impediment? His works have been surveyed as one that runs a gamut of emotion, religion undercurrents, the afterlife, mysteries of the human fate - occasionally coming across a quite wistful, melancholy, and in other instances very positive, and thought-provoking sort of anthologies. Peter is the host of the "P. English Literature" YouTube channel where he review books and conducts interviews with authors around the world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started